ACCA is suitable for those who would like a career in finance, business, or accountancy, who wish to become a Chartered Certified Accountant. It takes around three to four years to complete the full qualification. You’ll learn both practical and technical skills to equip you for a future in business. 

ACCA Syllabus and Papers

The ACCA syllabus consists of 13 papers divided into four levels:

  • Knowledge – 3 papers
  • Skills – 6 papers
  • Essentials – 2 papers
  • Options – 2 papers from 4


This Module which includes papers AB (F1) to FA (F3), is the starting point on your way to achieving your ACCA qualification. Once you’ve passed all 3 papers, you can continue on to the ACCA skills module.

  • Accountant in Business (AB)
  • Management Accounting (MA)
  • Financial Accounting (FA)

Knowledge Exemptions

If you are AAT, FIA or CAT qualified or hold a relevant degree (e.g. Accountancy, Finance, Law, or Management) then you may be eligible for exemptions from the knowledge level. You must apply for exemptions through ACCA when you register with ACCA as a student

Computer-Based Exams

  • Available all year round (subject to availability)
  • Object test and multi-task Questions
  • 2-hours exam with a pass mark of 50%
  • Computer-based exams consist of objective test questions and multi-task questions (MTQs). MTQs contains a series of the task for a student to complete, a task which related to one or one scenarios
  • Exams are also available at other ACCA approved centers

Skill Level

The Applied Skills exams build on existing knowledge and understanding and develop strong, broad, and practical finance skills required of a future strategic professional accountant in any or industry. These exams are:

  • Corporate and Business Law (LW)
  • Performance Management (PM)
  • Taxation (TX)
  • Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Audit and Assurance (AA)
  • Financial Management (FM)

Professional Level

Students must complete both essentials exams and choose two of the options. These exams are: 


  • Strategic Business Leader (SBL)
  • Strategic Business Reporting (SBR)


  • Advanced Financial Management (AFM)
  • Advanced Performance Management (APM)
  • Advanced Taxation (ATX)
  • Advanced Audit and Assurance(AAA)

ACCA Exam Regulations

  • All modules must be sat in order
  • Maximum of four ACCA papers to be taken in one sitting
  • Papers with a module may be sat in any order but ACCA recommends that they should be sat in numerical order
  • ACCA papers from a variety of levels may be sat at any one time. i.e. Knowledge and Skill or Skills and Essentials
  • The three essentials papers do not have to be sat together
  • The student has 10 years to pass all the examinations
  • The pass mark for all examinations os 50%
  • In addition to the above 14 ACCA papers, students are required to study and sit an online module in Professional ethics. It is recommended that this is studied at the same time as P1 
  • Practical Experience Required